uncategorized

Knit with Me on The Longest Day

Once again I am taking part in the Alzheimer’s Association’s (alz.org) The Longest Day event. This annual event takes place on the summer solstice–the day with the most light. On this day volunteers spend the daylight hours doing something they love while raising awareness and hopefully a lot of funds for to help find a cure for this dreadful disease.

For my part, I plan to knit from dawn to dusk on June 19. Although it’s not quite the summer solstice, it’s close enough for me!

In anticipation of the event, I designed the Fading Memories Cowl (shown above). On June 19, I’ll knit another version of the cowl while partaking in five online knit-a-longs sponsored by some of my favorite yarn shops. I’d love for you to purchase the Fading Memories Cowl and knit along with me. I’ll donate $5 to Alzheimer’s research for every pattern purchased! 

To help keep me focused during this very long day, I’ve scheduled a series of online knit-a-longs hosted by five of my favorite yarn shops. Beginning in Florida, we’ll follow the sun across the continent and end in Washington. You can check in, give me a “way to go, thumbs up” emoji, and hang out for an hour of chat and encouragement and even some prizes! All five sessions are free and will take place on Zoom.

  1. Start the Longest Day KAL at Four Purls of Winter Haven, Florida. This zoom session begins at 6:00 am PDT, 7:00 am MDT, 8:00 am CDT, 9:00 am EDT, 10:00 am ADT and 10:30 am in NL.
  2. The next stop will be at Hill Country Weavers. This Zoom session will be at 8:00 am PDT, 9:00 am MDT, 10:00 am CDT, 11:00 am EDT, 12:00 pm ADT and 12:30 pm in NL.
  3. Drop in on me again, courtesy of Longmont Yarn Shoppe of Longmont, Colorado. This zoom session will begin at 12:00 pm PDT, 1:00 pm MDT, 2:00 pm CDT, 3:00 pm EDT, 4:00 pm ADT and 4:30 pm in NL.
  4. Keep knitting (or take a nap), then join River City Yarns of Edmonton, Alberta for an afternoon session starting at 2:00 pm PDT, 3:00 pm MDT, 4:00 pm CDT, 5:00 pm EDT, 6:00 pm ADT and 6:30 pm in NL.
  5. We’ll finish up our cross-country KAL with a visit at the Bazaar Girls Yarn Shop of Port Townsend, Washington. This session starts at 4:00 pm PDT, 5:00 pm MDT, 6:00 pm CDT, 7:00 pm EDT, 8:00 pm ADT and 8:30 pm in NL. Contact Dana at events@bazaargirls.com to register.

And in any event, please visit my fundraiser page and make a donation. To encourage donations, I’ll enter your name in a raffle for every $50 you donate (donate $50 and get one chance to win, donate $100 and get two changes to win, and so on). The winner will receive the Fading Memories Cowl that I knit during the event.

Thank you.

 

Knit With Me on The Longest Day

You are cordially invited to join me on June 20 as I knit from sunup to sundown my Fading Memories Socks to raise awareness and funds for Alzheimer’s research. There’s still time to purchase the special Fading Shadows Gradient Kit from Longmont Yarn Shoppe. For every pattern sold, I’ll donate $5 to Alzheimer’s; for every gradient kit sold, Longmont Yarn Shoppe will donate $10!

To make this day more interactive, four Local (online) Yarn Shops have joined in to host virtual zoom Knit-A-Long sessions with me. You can check in, give me a “way to go, thumbs up” emoji, and hang out for an hour of chat and encouragement. All four sessions are free and will take place on Zoom. Please click on the links below to register for each session. And yes, there will be prizes and special offers; including a very special prize draw for those who join in all four KAL sessions.

  1. Start your Longest Day KAL at Four Purls of Winter Haven, Florida. This zoom session begins at 7:00 am Pacific Time, 8:00 am Mountain Time, 9:00 am Central Time, 10:00 am Eastern Time, 11:00 am Atlantic Time.
  2. Keep knitting (or take a nap) and join River City Yarns of Edmonton, Alberta for a mid-day session starting at 11:00 am Pacific Time, 12:00 pm Mountain Time, 1:00 pm Central Time, 2:00 pm Eastern Time, 3:00 pm Atlantic Time.
  3. And after a short break, join in with the Bazaar Girls Yarn Shop of Port Townsend, Washington. This session starts at 1:00 pm Pacific Time, 2:00 pm Mountain Time, 3:00 pm Central Time, 4:00 pm Eastern Time, 5:00 pm Atlantic Time. Click here for the login codes.
  4. We’ll finish up our cross-country KAL with a visit at Longmont Yarn Shoppe of Longmont, Colorado. This session starts at 3:00 pm Pacific Time, 4:00 pm Mountain Time, 5:00 pm Central Time, 6:00 pm Eastern Time, 7:00 pm Atlantic Time.

And in any event, please visit my fundraiser page and make a donation.

Thank you.

Approaching THE LONGEST DAY

Please join me on The Longest Day, Saturday, June 20, as I knit from sunrise to sunset to raise awareness (and hopefully a lot of funds) for Alzheimer’s awareness and research.

I’ve designed the Fading Memories crescent shawl to represent the increasing holes in the memories of those afflicted with Alzheimer’s, in a colorway inspired by The Longest Day logo.

For every Fading Memories pattern sold, I will donate $5 to Alzheimer’s research.

The yarn I used is The Mystery of The White Plum gradient kit of 6 mini skeins specially dyed by indie dyer Schmutzerella Yarns, who will donate $5 for every pack sold.

The following dyers/yarn shops also have special colorways for this shawl and will donate a portion of the proceeds to Alzheimer’s research.

Not to be outdone by yarnies, master ceramicist Charan Sacher of Creative With Clay has also joined the cause and is taking orders for purple and gray mugs. The 16-ounce mugs are dishwasher and microwave safe, and are available in four knitterly designs.

For every mug ordered, Charan will donate $5 to Alzheimer’s research.

Click here to order your mug.

 

As I knit the shawl on Saturday, June 20, I’ll post my hourly progress through Instagram posts. Follow me at annbuddknits.

Whether or not you want to join the knit-along, please visit my fundraising page and make a donation. Together we can help find a cure!

Registration is Open!

The third Knit For Fun Retreat in Edmonton, Canada, is now open for registration!

Once again we’ll partner with River City Yarns in Edmonton, and because we like it so much, we’ll return to the DoubleTree by Hilton, in West Edmonton.

Our Rock Star teachers are Olga Buraya-Kefelian, Xandy Peters, and Canada’s own Shirley A Scott.

Olga

 

Olga will teach the following three-hour classes:

          • 3-Dimensional Knitwear
          • Brioche and Beyond
          • Novelty Cables

Olga’s optional full-day (6 hour) class is                        3-Dimensional Knitwear

 

Zandy will teach the following three-hour classes:

      • Intro to Stacked Stitches
      • Color Theory for Fiber Artists
      • Center-Out Knitting

Zandy’s optional full-day (6 hour) class is Fox Paws Workshop

 

 

Shirley will teach the following three-hour classes:

            • Wreckhouse Wristers
            • Glove Knitting for Newbies
            • Beaded Eyelet Wristers

Shirley’s optional full-day (6 hour) class is  Newfoundland Mittens in a Day

 

Registration includes three 3-hour classes (one class with each instructor) during four class periods: Friday morning, Friday afternoon, Saturday morning, and Saturday afternoon. You will be given one free period with regular registration.

In addition to three 3-hour classes, you’ll have the opportunity to sign up for one-on-one sessions of 20 minutes each with the Knit Doctor (that’s me, Ann Budd) on a first-come, first-serve basis. I’ll help you with anything that ails your knitting, from taking measurements and choosing yarn to finding your place in a piece gone wrong and fixing mistakes.

For an additional fee, you can sign up for an optional full-day class with one of the teachers opening day (Thursday, August 27). If space is available, you’ll also have the opportunity to register for a fourth class in lieu of a free period.

Take time for yourself this year and join us for three (or four) days of learning, knitting, shopping, and enjoying the company of knitting enthusiasts from around the world! Gifts and prizes may be included…

Go to Knit For Fun Retreats for complete details.

Click here to register 

It’s Good to Give

It’s that giving time of year again and once again I encourage you to make a purchase through Heifer International (self proclaimed “the most important gift catalog in the world”) to provide a living income to a family or community in need. Heifer invests in farmers and business owners around the world, spreading secure sources of income that translate into nutritious food, shelter, clean water, education, health care, and a safe and and secure environment–things that so many of us enjoy daily.

From $10 to $100,000, the catalog offers an assortment of livestock, agriculture, and education options to fit every budget. I’m in the habit of purchasing a $20 flock of chicks or geese for each of my siblings.

And, as I have done every November for years, I’ve purchased a Knitters’ Basket in an attempt to spread the joy that knitting has brought me.

With just a click of the mouse, I’ve sent one llama, one alpaca, one sheep, and one Angora rabbit (along with instructions on how to properly care for the animals) to a family or community looking for ways to become self sufficient. The coats of these animals provide fiber that can be made into warm clothing and a source of income from the sale of clothing and blankets. Everyone is a winner!

Please include Heifer in your holiday gift-giving, too!

The Great Northwest

It seems as though it’s been a particularly hot summer this year. However, I got a 12-day break when my husband and I visited friends and family on the Olympic Penninsula of Washington state. I’m not one to take a lot of photos (I don’t like experiencing a vacation through the lens of a camera), but I did manage to get a few representative shots.

We spent a week in rental house on a hill outside of Sequim. The view from the front porch was spectacular when we arrived. Unfortunately, the clouds settled in and many of our subsequent “views” were revealed only on posted signs throughout Olympic National Park.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

We spent several days exploring the Hoh Rain Forest where the trees loomed large and moss covered most every surface. With all the vegetation and low clouds, it was serenely peaceful and surreal. I highly recommend hiking a rainforest during a gentle rain. But keep your eyes open and be on the lookout for bears. We spotted a mother and cub just yards off the trail!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Baby it’s Hot!

Like a lot of the northern hemisphere, we’ve had our share of hot weather this summer.

With temps holding well above 90 F (33 C) into the evenings, it’s been hard for me to accomplish much of anything. My forearm sticks to my desk when I use my computer mouse, and more importantly, yarn doesn’t flow between my sweaty fingers when I knit. We don’t have air conditioning and the multiple fans running throughout the house don’t seem to help much.

Please share any tips you have for dealing with the heat!

Fiber Nation!

If you haven’t done so already, I urge you to listen to Fiber Nation, an in-depth podcast that goes beyond knitting. Sponsored by Interweave and hosted by my personal friend Allison Korleski, this professionally produced podcast is different from any other I’ve listened to. The podcast uses a storytelling format rather than a straight-up interview, and each episode is an intriguing visit with someone who is doing interesting and inspiring things in the fiber universe.

So far, there have been three roughly half-hour episodes. Here’s a recap:

Not What I Expected (March 20, 2019) 

From the khamak embroidery of Afghanistan to Mayan rug hookers in Guatemala, learn how women are changing their lives with creativity, courage, and old t-shirts. Publisher Linda Ligon (she was the founder of Interweave Press) takes us around the world with Thrums Books, and reflects on how the best intentions can sometimes backfire.

I first met Linda in 1989 when I took a job as an editorial assistant for Handwoven Magazine. She is one of the most amazing women I know and I credit her with launching my career as an editor, and later knitwear designer.

Country Life (April 12, 2019)

Say you start knitting, and get into yarn. Maybe you start spinning, and get obsessed with fiber. This is how an obsession with sheep might begin. Spin Off magazine editor Kate Larson just happens to have her own flock of sheep. In this episode, Kate walks us through animal husbandry, harvesting fiber, and the hard choices that sometimes come with ranching.

I’ve met Kate while on the teaching circuit. Sadly, I’ve never taken a class from this most engaging woman, but I’ve heard lots of good things and am even more impressed after listening to this podcast.

From Russia With Love (May 22, 2019)

Hand-drawn knitting charts are not normally the target of armed robbery. When you are starting a business in 1990’s Russia, however, anything goes. In this episode, you’ll meet Galina Khmeleva and hear a dual story: one about a 300-year-old knitting tradition, and another about the remarkable woman who helped preserve it.

I met Galina when she was working on her Gossamer Webs book back in the 1990s. I’ve spend many a delightful evening with her at various knitting events–that woman can tell a story! I also had the good fortune of having her teach for my 2016 Knit For Fun Retreat in Estes Park, Colorado.

I hope these words have piqued your interest. Go to Fiber Nation to listen to these and hopefully many, many more podcasts. Better yet, click here to subscribe to Fiber Nation on iTunes (click on “Listen on Apple Podcasts”, then click on “Subscribe” at the left of the page, under the Fiber Nation logo.

Cozy Up to Hygge!

Because you deserve it, I’ve uploaded a new pattern on Ravelry. Hygge Delight Cowl is designed with the Danish notion of hygge, which roughly translates to “cozy” or “comfort”, in mind. Knitted in the round with 100% cashmere yarn in a straightforward stripe pattern, the knitting is a joyful experience while the resulting cowl is thick and luxurious.

A simple slip-stitch pattern is worked in the first round of each color to add interest to the repeating stripes. The cowl is worked as a tube (double thickness and double warmth!) that’s finished off with Kitchener stitch. Choose a gradient kit as I did or combine colors of your own choice!

From now until midnight December 23, receive 20% off the Ravelry purchase price of the Hygge Delight Cowl by using the code DELIGHT when you check out.